FORMER governor and four former Goilala MPs are among the 33 candidates contesting the Goilala seat by-election, Electoral Commissioner Andrew Trawen says.

Former governor Alphones Moroi, who served two terms up to 2012, is standing as an independent candidate.
The former Goilala MPs are Camilo Esef, Fabian Inne, Mathew Poia and Ajax Bia.

Poia is contesting under the Our Development Party. The rest are contesting as independent candidates.
Pangu Pati, National Alliance Party and Our Development Party have nominated candidates.

Mathilda Koma is the only female candidate.

Meanwhile, Trawen said 33 ballot boxes for the Pomio Open seat by-election and five boxes for the Sivinit Local Level Government president have been delivered. The counting process is to begin today at the Vunapope Diocesan Hall.

It will start with the Sinivit LLG president seat primary counting followed by the Pomio open seat counting.
Deputy provincial administrator Wilson Matava said the remaining ballot boxes were expected to arrive in Kokopo from Palmalmal today.

Source: The National, Friday May 22nd, 2015